Monday, April 21, 2014

Dutchmen pick up honors

by Ryan Fay

The accolades keep coming for NCAA Hockey champion Union.

Union head coach Rick Bennett was named Coach of the Year. It's Bennett's third Coach of the Year honor this season. He was also selected as the AHCA Spencer Penrose Award winner as national Coach Of The Year and College Hockey News Coach of the Year.

Four Dutchmen cracked the teams. Defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere made the first-team, while defenseman Mat Bodie and forward Daniel Carr were on the second-team. Goaltender and Niskayuna native Colin Stevens was on the third-team.

Connor Hellebuyck, sophomore goaltender, Massachusetts-Lowell
Shayne Gostisbehere, junior defenseman, Union
Mike Reilly, sophomore defenseman, Minnesota
Johnny Gaudreau, junior forward, Boston College
Kevin Hayes, senior forward, Boston College
Greg Carey, senior forward, St. Lawrence

Adam Wilcox, sophomore goaltender, Minnesota
Ben Hutton, sophomore defenseman, Maine
Mat Bodie, senior defenseman, Union
Cody Wydo, junior forward, Robert Morris
Nic Dowd, senior forward, St. Cloud State
Daniel Carr, senior forward, Union

Colin Stevens, junior goaltender, Union
Jake McCabe, junior defenseman, Wisconsin
Steve Weinstein, junior defenseman, Bentley
Kyle Rau, junior forward, Minnesota
Devin Shore, sophomore forward, Maine
Josh Archibald, junior forward, Nebraska-Omaha

No comments:

Post a Comment